Reading List

I thought it would be a good idea for me to compile a list of books I have read that have enabled me to find out what I have for my development of this module. I have also scoured the internet to find valuable sources of information.

download

Bodies of Modernity- Tamar Garb

This book has lead me to the understanding of representation of masculinity and femininity through examples of artwork, photography and advertising. It talks about the late nineteenth century in France mainly, where men and women were seen as complete opposites. It especially helped me when looking historically about the male image and a ‘new fascination’ with body building.

9780500283059_16523

The Body in Pieces- Linda Nochlin

The strong amount of paintings and drawings within the book enabled me to create and come up with the visuals that I found were so important to get right within my work. Nochlin gave me a new outlook and a strong base to work upon for my research, talking about the body as not just a sexual object. With useful quotes and wider knowledge about artists that have at one point or another focused on the human body and form, I feel this book has been a staple to my work.

artpow

Art and Power: Images of the 1930’s

Looking at this book gives an insight to the timeline of political events in the 1930’s through artworks and the different themes covered such as the cult of the body and sport, women and the enemies and victims of totalitarianism.

 

Cohan-Screening

Screening the Male- Edited by Steven Cohan & Ina Rae Hark

Although this book focuses on giving a clear guide and argument as to how males and masculinity is portrayed in Hollywood, it still is a valuable source which talks about the power that is seen of men. This relates to my video art piece because I want to evoke power back into the male participants shown on a huge projection when they talk of their insecurities.

After having read feminism books with the same regards in the past such as ‘Feminist Film Theory’ by Sue Thornham, who doesn’t support the way in which women are shown on the film screen, this book backs the same argument in some chapters about men. 

Videoartfront-210x300

A History of Video Art- Chris Meigh-Andrews

It would probably be no surprise that a book like this has given me a much wider knowledge than I thought it would have done with the history of video artists, who the first person was, the different movements such as Fluxus, the reasoning behind feminists being so interested in using the new platform of art and why it was such a big thing that ordinary people could now produce art work that they never thought they would be able to.

degenerate_art_catalog

“Degenerate Art” The Fate of the Avant-Gard in Nazi Germany

Doing some further research into a topic that I knew absolutely nothing about and something I had only heard of from the book above called Art and Power: Images of the 1930’s, It was not only helpful in the sense of my work, but also interesting to know about the Nazi involvement with artwork and even an exhibition.

This entry was posted in Placing Your Work in Context 260MC. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

