Analysis of Androcentrism

My final piece: Androcentrism
When first starting out in this module, my intentions were never to embarrass my subjects or make them feel worse about their insecurities, but instead to create a new outlook on them by trying to boast that there is nothing they should be insecure in themselves about.
My idea has changed dramatically throughout the creative process of the module and has moulded into something that has a lot of contextual and metaphorical depth. Going from wanting to film males in front of a white background talking about their insecurities and dubbing their voices to my final outcome of asking males to expose their physical insecurities on camera knowing my intention to project largely onto a wall in an exhibition.
I think that within myself an interesting point that I have made the whole way through this process is whether it is ethically right for me to have asked and allowed my participants to be in my video when I know for a fact I would never have done this myself.  Like any other person I have insecurities, some that run deeper than others, but I would never be comfortable with getting in front of a camera to expose them. A lot of artists that look a body image use their own bodies such as Laura Steele where she films all the scars and blemishes she has, which shows how easy it would have been for me to use my own body, but instead chose to put other people in this situation.

When reading ‘The Body in Pieces’ one quote that stood out to me was “Art historians like myself, wrapped up in the nineteenth century and in gender theory, have a tendency to forget that the human body is not just the object of desire, but the site of suffering, pain and death…” (Nochlin:18) I think through producing my work and especially seeing it through all the stages through to being researched, filmed and exhibited, it is something that people could easily become desensitied to, much like Nochlin seems as though she is implying here when thinking about gender theory. The same impact that feminist artwork no longer has on me, and how fed up I am of hearing people complain about how women are so insecure but play no part in trying to make the situation better, I feel as though although my work is innovative in the way that I am a women talking about a problem to do with the male gender, it is something that could too be over done and not longer become a problem but something that we push to the back of our minds.

My main subject is what I think is most innovative about my work rather than it’s visual style which has probably been seen a million times before or even the sound because it’s just mens voices and Yoko Ono’s sound from her piece ‘Fly’. I think the most important thing within my work that makes it innovative is a woman trying to tackle and understand a male problem- one that every male must know or feel something for but either doesn’t want to speak up or doesn’t see the point because nobody else does.

Even though using another artists work within my own may not be seen as an innovation and instead using the easy option by putting a greatly influential artists work in with my own, there is so much more depth to it than that. Yoko Ono’s video ‘Fly’ shows extreme close ups of flies walking around a nude woman’s body as if to show the exploration and appreciation of every part of the body. With my work having a similar context and representing myself as the fly in a situation where I am a new artist finding my ground in the work that I produce and learning every step of the way.

References

Nochlin, L. (1994) The Body in Pieces
Thomas & Hudson Ltd, London

This entry was posted in Placing Your Work in Context 260MC. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

