Alienation- Day Three

Shortly after the Aliention project, I went through some of my footage, mainly the stills and picked out my favourites and spent the day editing them. Looking back upon the footage was a lot more helpful than I thought. Being able to go through and critique each picture is an important part of the process for me as I can see exactly which areas I need to improve on.

I had a look at my long exposure shots that I was looking forward to seeing. When taking them I realised that a lot of them were very over exposed, but I thought I would be able to fix them in Photoshop, which I sadly couldn’t to many of them. However, say that I did do a couple more long exposure shots at night and they look a lot better. I guess the lesson there is to either shoot in RAW or to wait until it’s dark to do long exposure shots.

A lot of the video footage where I had to react quickly was shaky, which tells me that I need to get a better hand held technique if I am to do something like this again- either that or get some sort of steady cam/ shoulder rig. I think the content and length of them was good, none of them dragged on too long but I made sure that I left myself enough room to cut within it, as that is a mistake I have made before in other modules especially when creating a show reel.

I remember when preparing myself for the shoot I took a very cheap tripod of me that I owned myself as I didn’t think I would need any movement in the shots. This was a bad idea as in some of the unedited shots you can tell that the tripod is slightly wonky. I wish now that I had taken a much better tripod as this would have given me a lot more freedom when filming, but I thought about things that wouldn’t take up much room. Something that I have learnt is to plan the equipment you are going to take to a shoot both practically but so you can get the best results.

I was only going to take one lens with me but Im glad I took my 18-55 as well as my 50mm. During the night I remember we had problems with the lighting, with the gallery having such a low light I struggled to pick up much on my camera with my 18-55 mm lens. Out of the odd chance I changed my lens to a 50mm after spending ages trying to point the lights in the right direction of where the production line was. When putting the 50mm lens on and lowering the f stop, the light flooded in. This taught me something valuable; make sure you have good knowledge of your kit before you take it out on a shoot. I felt like a bit of a fool when I realised that the solution was actually that simple, especially as I had spend about half an hour trying to move the lights and thinking of ways to enhance the only light we had.

From this alienation experience I have filmed my first event, I have filmed singularly on my own, not having a crew around to help make decisions. I have had to work independently, precisely, responsively and judgementally. Looking back on my work helped me as much as filming did, knowing what I have to improve on next time I’m behind the camera, what I think I did well and what I shot that was absolute rubbish.

This entry was posted in Professional Experience- 201MC. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

